Final steps
17.4.2.1.4. After successful self-registration

Once all user data, the user name and the password pass all checks, the new user is inserted into the database. If configured, a link with a random token will be sent to the user's email address. Only upon clicking on the provided link (and thus confirming the correctness and ability to access to the specified email address) will the registration be finalized.

Once completed, the configuration also controls if the users are immediately logged-in, and the roles they are given (i.e. which applications or services they are allowed to access). It can also be configured that the new account of the user is first locked, allowing an administrator to review the information before approving (unlocking) the account.